Mountains And Beaches

Friday June 8th, 2012

Friday June 8th, 2012

Some pressure on the Perfect Weather Index tomorrow mostly due to rising temperatures across the country. As an example, Salt Lake City will be nearly perfect today with sunshine and mid 70s, but Friday highs are expected to rise quickly into the upper 80s. Too warm for me and this is reflected in the perfect weather scores.

The nicest weather tomorrow will be split between the Appalachian Mountains in the East, and California in the West. There will be a ring of perfect 10’s around the Central Valley of California…my pick here is Grass Valley just northeast of Sacramento. In Southern California, areas closer to the coast will see some perfect weather. My pick here is Laguna Hills. In the Appalachian Mountains, the largest concentration of perfect weather will be in Virginia. My pick here is Burkes Garden.

Overall, the state with the highest mean tomorrow (8.3) will be West Virgina. The Pacific Northwest will continue to suffer with more showers and cool temperature.

Seeing Southern California coastal areas as some of the best weather in the nation tomorrow got me thinking about where the best beach weather might be. So I compared the Perfect Weather Index with a list of all the beaches in the country and came up with an index for every beach in the nation. I came up with a lot of 8’s and 9’s in North Carolina and California. There were only a couple beaches in California that were a perfect 10, one of which was Summerland Beach. Now, the best beach weather I think may not coincide with my PWI. I think if I were going to the beach, I would want warmer temperatures and maybe a little more wind. Also, I gotta think that water temperatures might have to play a role as well. It might 80 degrees but if the water is 55, I don’t consider that quite as good. Maybe a PWI for beaches may be something to consider in the future.

  Best                     Worst

1. West Virginia      1. Washington
2. Pennsylvania      2. Florida
3. Ohio                        3. Louisiana
4. North Dakota     4. Oregon
5. Virginia                 5. Nebraska

2 Comments

Filed under My Perfect Weather Index

2 responses to “Mountains And Beaches

  1. Pingback: Fun Friday Returns « Whimsey Pie

Leave a Reply

